Life: happening, eating and more

Playing catch up again. I really hope I can blog more from now on… maybe 3 times a week just as I did when I was on maternity leave last time. I really enjoy reading those. Good memories. Now.. we are living another special time.. and I want to record it too.

Happening

First let’s see how we celebrated grandma’s birthday this year. It was a surprise celebration. I didn’t tell her when was her birthday this year but secretly planned it with Sofia and Tony. Sofia came back with a cake and my mom was happily surprised! 🙂

IMG 0146

following tradition, we had noodle for dinner.

IMG 0131

Sofia helped blowing the candle while Lizzy continued staring at her sister

IMG 0151

Everyone enjoyed the cake and the ocassion

IMG 0154

IMG 0161

including Lizzy… she had a “taste” of the cake

IMG 0165

I love my mom so much. She’s the wisest woman I know. She is also caring, generous and always there when I need her. I notice that she’s getting older, not as energetic as few years ago. Her time with us here in the US will be limited. She will probably go back to  China next year. We will all miss her so much.

IMG 0168

 

As present for grandma, I took her and Sofia to see Riverdance. I saw the show 7 or 8 years ago and at that time I knew she would love it. So when I was thinking about what to give for her birthday, Riverdance happened to be in town that weekend.

IMG 0190

Three generations of women went on a date… it was a lovely day

IMG 0194

it was Sofia’s first show experience and she behaved really well

IMG 0204

IMG 0216

It was the perfect present for grandma. She really liked it. Now that she’s getting older, I think she enjoys experience over material goods. I will definitely share more memorable experiences with her. These are invaluable.

We’ve been exploring farmer’s market on Saturdays. The last time I went with Miss Sofia alone and treated her with a popsicle. She was so happy.

IMG 0185

Sofia started her swimming lessons. Now she’s in Peddle II.

IMG 0222

We went to a pool party at Brian’s, one of Sofia’s classmate

IMG 0234

she had such a blast! I wish we had a pool at home too. She could spend the whole afternoon in the water.

IMG 0237

Lizzy started to smile and “talk” to us. She’s such a happy baby, so easy to be content! 🙂

IMG 0239

On July 4th weekend, Sofia and I prepared a icebox cake to take to a friend’s BBQ party

IMG 0323

she had so much fun putting those fillings.

IMG 0327

We will definitely make it again next year.

IMG 0331

We took Lizzy to the mall one day… one of few outings with her other than to restaurants. As long as I keep moving around with the stroller, she’s content.

IMG 0334

I love seeing Tony interacting with Sofia. I know I say it repeatedly, but I still feel moved when I see them together.

IMG 0353

Four days weekend at home drives me crazy… Sofia has so much energy to release. I was out of ideas… so I took her to ride bike for a while, teaching her how to turn without falling

IMG 0363

I encourage Tony to exercise, Sofia likes to join.

IMG 0366

 

We invited friends over to play with Sofia, so we make egg tarts

IMG 0372

Sofia loves cooking with me and I love having her as company. I wish she enjoys cooking as much as I do in the future.

IMG 0376

They played for few hours and they got tired too. Some downtime with the iPhone.

IMG 0388

by the end of the long weekend, I was so exhausted. I didn’t want to move out of the couch.

IMG 0365

This Monday the teacher called me. I was in panic. Fortunately it was nothing major but we  still took Sofia to get checked. Apparently little girls can have yeast infection too. Who knew? But it’s nothing to worry about. Just keep her private area clean and dry, apply the cream twice a day for two weeks.

IMG 0412

Eating

I’ve been eating really clean lately because I can prepare meals myself. I love it! I enjoy cooking and I feel the greatest when I eat clean with tons of veggies, lean meat, limited fat and fruit, and almost no grains.

For breakfasts I’m addicted to is this protein cake. Made with 1/2 cup of pumpkin puree, 3 egg whites, 2 TB corn flour, 1 TB cocoa powder, 1 tsp baking powder, pinch of salt and stevia. Mix, microwave for 3’50”, top with PB2 sauce. It’s like eating dessert for breakfast. So so good. I think I had it for 3 weeks straight and each day still looking forward to it.

IMG 0125

for savory option, I’d have a grilled wrap filled with 1 egg, 1/2 C egg white, 1 oz. mozzarella cheese and 1 slice of smoked ham.

IMG 0405

or this savory pancake made with 1/4 C of chickpea flour and the same feelings as the wrap.

IMG 0287

For my mom and Tony, I prepared egg muffins

IMG 0357

bread with ham, bacon and hash browns

IMG 0298

 

waffles with PB2 sauce and homemade berries jam

IMG 0071

I don’t often have morning snacks, if I do, it has been mainly pistachios, my fav nuts!

I usually eat lunch pretty late… around 1:30pm. Some random combos:

a soupy mixture of shrimp head, tofu, napa cabbage and shiitake noodles.

IMG 0129

taco bowl made with grounded turkey, sautéed kale, chipotle salsa and cauliflower rice. Such a filling and tasty meal.

IMG 0408

when it’s hot, I’d have a salad. This one has lettuce, tomato, cucumber, asian blend veggies and grilled shrimp. I made an asian dressing with sesame oil, soy sauce, rice vinegar and honey.

IMG 0253

similar salad with grilled tofu

IMG 0188

Quick stir fry with whatever I had: kale, palm heart, red onion and tempeh.

IMG 0077

Asian blend sautéed with onion, kale and homemade turkey meatballs, with tons of spicy korean sauce.

IMG 0293

asian blend sautéed with shrimp, paired with cauliflower rice

IMG 0259

asian blend sauteed with onion and turkey meatball, paired with cauliflower rice

IMG 0267

sauteed purple cabbage with kale, grounded turkey and shiitake noodles.

IMG 0348

Tony’s (he gained 10 lbs recently, so I’m trying to get him to eat cleaner too).

seaweed tofu soup, homemade chickpea and bean burger, and sweet potato fries

IMG 0100

pasta with carrot and turkey meatball. I added carrots so he doesn’t feel it was too small a portion of pasta.

IMG 0252

milanese with tomato and roasted sweet potato

IMG 0120

We eat a veggie loaded chinese dinner. We typically have 1 or 2 veggie dishes, 1 protein (mainly fish or chicken, occasionally beef or pork or tofu)

IMG 0121

IMG 0256

IMG 0260

We’ve been doing a lot of BBQ too. As simple as salad with sausage

IMG 0301

and grilled vegetables

IMG 0302

Misc:

I finished Grit. I was very excited when I first hear about it. However, the message is simple and I don’t think it needs such a long book to deliver it.

IMG 0254

I’m running again! I started at 6 weeks postpartum. Now I’m addicted to it. I’m following Nike’s 5k coaching program so I don’t have to decide how long I should run everyday. I just follow the plan and I ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT!!!

IMG 0178

Well… that’s a long recap. Hopefully I’ll start posting more from now on. Good news coming up.

Leave a Reply

