Sofia’s 3 yrs birthday party!

Happy birthday to my lovely baby!!! I can’t believe she turned 3 yesterday. She amazed me that at 3, she’s a fully articulated, thoughtful, smart girl! Even her teachers say that although she’s the youngest in class, she knows everything, so meticulous with her things, so precise when she speaks. 🙂

We had two celebrations this year. One at school on Friday. I made cupcakes for them, my first time making them. They didn’t turn out as pretty as store-bought, but good enough to show my dedication and love.

IMG 9028

we arrived after they got up from nap, the class was already decorated for the occasion.

IMG 9032

we wanted to take pics with the birthday girl, but she was so focused on the icing

IMG 9039

we song birthday song in english, french and chinese

IMG 9036

although Sofia was quiet all the time, I know she’s enjoying the moment

IMG 9038

grandparents planned their trip to China to be able to celebrate with her

IMG 9045

then on Saturday, 9/26, we host a big party at home, over 40 friends accompanied us

IMG 9456

IMG 9458

I’ve been preparing the food for days… and left the hardest project for last. For the past two years, I’ve ordered the cake, but this year and all coming years, I want to make the cake for Sofia, a tradition that hopefully one day she’ll appreciate. This time, I made a four-layers coconut cake, with 4 shades of purple, one of her favorite color. 🙂

IMG 9029

The party starts at 3:30pm so I prepared some finger food for the guests.

IMG 9447

a flourless chocolate cake, so chocolaty, so rich, so addicting! 🙂

IMG 9448

blinis with smoked salmon

IMG 9449

cheese plate

IMG 9450

chips with salsa

IMG 9451

empanadas

IMG 9452

two kinds of moon cakes because the next day was Chinese moon festival. I made one with lotus seed filling

IMG 9453

and one with aduki beans. They were all gone because I had the chance to try one.

IMG 9454

biscottis

IMG 9455

drinks were juices and fruit punch

IMG 9457

Sofia was obsessed with the 3.5 months old Luna… she wanted to hug and hold her. She’s be a great sister.

IMG 9461

more friends came with gifts

IMG 9464

and her best friend at school, Sofia.

IMG 9467

in the middle of the party, we did Piñata! Such a great idea for a crowd of kids desperate for some lollipop 🙂

IMG 9087

after that, every single kid had lollipop none stop!!! The parents must be hating me…

IMG 9072

IMG 9081

The adults chat and ate… everyone seemed to be enjoying the party 😀

IMG 9471

some photo posing happened too

IMG 9459

IMG 9468

IMG 9469

IMG 9488

then we did the cake. I decorated the cake with a light purple color… it turned out great! Everyone assumed that I ordered it! 🙂

IMG 9476

IMG 9478

once again, while we song birthday, Sofia was too focused on the lollipop

IMG 9480

IMG 9484

IMG 9485

and her old bestie Smaranda.

IMG 9498

It was the most popular birthday party we’ve had so far. We had a lot of fun!!! Sofia liked it so much that when she woke up the next day, she told me: hacemos fiesta otra vez! (let’s have another party!).

Each year is a milestone, and I truly enjoy preparing every one of these. I am thankful to be the most important person in her life and wish I could bring more happiness into her life. I know as she gets older, this task will get harder and harder, but it also prepares me to be a better mom. 🙂

I love you, my most precious girl in the world! Having you makes me feel I have the world.

2 thoughts on “Sofia’s 3 yrs birthday party!

Leave a Reply

