Mother’s day and first BBQ of 2015

Mother’s day gift from my beloved Sofia. She’s getting better with gift making!

IMG_7919

I love you so much Sofia, I feel so lucky to be your mom because you bring the biggest joy in life!

IMG_7920

To celebrate that day we invited some friends over for the first BBQ of the year.

IMG_6669

the weather was perfect to eat outdoor

IMG_6670

Look how chubby has became Sofia, exactly how I was when I was at her age

IMG_7940

more and more she’s playing with other kids, even it involves fighting over toys every 5 min

IMG_7954

I made a salad, grilled corns, sweet potato and marinated chicken. My friend brought shrimp bruchetta and beef

IMG_7958

after nap time, we went to visit a new friend, Teri, second daughter of my friend Sarah. Just 8 days old. so tiny and so fragile. I miss those early days of Sofia.

IMG_7966

while they had the naming ceremony, Sofia focused on eating the fried dough

IMG_7989

she’s really into pricess outfit these days.. even going to the mall she wanted to put her dress and make this silly face

IMG_6699

A friend from chicago just moved to the area and we had dinner at True Kitchen, a restaurant following Dr. Weil’s anti-inflammatory diet principles. We shared 2 appetizers: kale-guacamole

IMG_6658

dumplings

IMG_6659

as entree I had salad with salmon, nothing too special. IMG_6660

for the first time (ever?) I had a glass of white wine.. which was quite tasty

IMG_6664

for dessert I had frozen yogurt and bloody orange sorbet.. very refreshing

I also did some baking: a spongy cake which both Sofia and my mom loved. It’s like the base of the fruit cake that whole food sells. Once it was finished in 3 days, my mom asked me to bake a new one.

IMG_7896

I also made a granola bar with almond butter, oatmeal and dry fruits. Sofia loves it!

IMG_6668

I usually go to Chopt’ Salad if I go out for lunch, but last week I went to Sweet Salad and was happilly surprised with their new selection. I had the Pad Thai made with shrimp which was delicious. And my colleague had the green guacamole and also enjoyed it a lot, even thanking me to take him to try it. He’s a senior colleague who’s much older than me, but for some reason we have this special chemistry and we get along very well. It’s amazing how much more fun is to work with someone that you like. Not only it’s more fun but it makes working together easier because you trust each other, and when there’s disagreement you are sure that both of you are trying to make the work better, and not some work politics.

IMG_6682

As I publish this belated recap.. I’m in Lima for a mission until tomorrow and then heading to Cancun for a mini vacation! 🙂

One thought on “Mother’s day and first BBQ of 2015

Leave a Reply

